Flashback Friday :: Holding the Light

Today’s flashback takes us right back to the very beginning of the Manitoba Craft Council.  On February 17, 1978, the MCC, then known as the Council of Manitoba Artisans, was officially incorporated.  On the list of first board members and signers was Kirk Creed, subject of a recent Flashback Friday, as well as today’s featured artist from the archives, Ione Thorkelsson.  Many of you will be familiar with the progress of Ione’s glass work over the past 35 plus years, from her early perfume bottles to sculpture and installation.  She was a recipient of the Saidye Bronfman Award (Governor General’s Award in Fine Craft) in 2010 and a major arts grant from the Manitoba Arts Council in 2011.  In addition to her arts practice, Ione has been an important supporter of the MCC and many individual craftspeople over the years.
Click on each image below to enlarge.