Judith Ryan Award 2020

The 2020 Judith Ryan Award has been presented jointly to the artists in Lens Reflex:

Sarah Crawley, Janine-Annette Littman, Nichol Marsch, Lesley Nakonechny, Grace Nickel & Michael Zajac, Willow Rector, Sandra Vincent, and Tricia Wasney.

The Judith Ryan Award is presented as part of the Manitoba Craft Council’s regular juried exhibitions to encourage excellence in Manitoba craft. The award was created in 1999 through a permanent endowment fund with The Winnipeg Foundation.

Judith Ryan was a self-taught, multi-disciplinary artist who created artworks in batik, ceramics, and tiles for which she received national and international recognition. She was also accomplished in sculpture, water colour painting, copperplate etching, stained glass, fashion design, and photography. She drew on her rich cultural heritage (Indonesian, Dutch, English, French, Jewish, and Japanese) and personal history to create a unique body of artwork.